No booking fee
Call now on
08 9431 7878
Contact us Text size


This page contains information on Western Australias timezone Click on thumbnail to view image gallery

Local time zone

Western Australia is on Western Standard Time (WST) which is eight hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

There are three time zones in Australia:

  • Australian Western Standard Time (AWST–GMT + 8.00) in Western Australia
  • Australian Central Standard Time (ACST–GMT + 9.30) in South Australia and Northern Territory; and
  • Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST–GMT +10.00) which operates in New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania and Queensland.

Day light saving

Five Australian States of Victoria, New South Wales and South Australia, Australian Capital Territory and Tasmania move to daylight saving during the summer months of December, January and February. The time on local clocks is advanced forward by one hour during this time and returned back by one hour at the end of summer.

The exact dates can be obtained from the relevant Australian State governments.

Western Australia, Northern Territory and Queensland do not have daylight saving.

Fremantle Visitor Centre | Website : | Telephone number : +618 9431 7878